Printed on 5/1/19



Boy Scout Centennial License Plate

Authorization for a commemorative license plate honoring the 100th Anniversary of the Boy Scouts of America, was sponsored by Eagle Scout Kent Lambert.

HB08-1151 was co-sponsored by Eagle Scout Representative Terrance Carroll of Denver, Eagle Scout Senator Dave Schultheis and Eagle Scout Representative Larry Liston of Colorado Springs, and many other legislators.

The Boy Scouts of America was founded on February 8, 1910, by William Boyce, a Chicago publisher, following the model of the British Scouts started by Lord Robert Baden-Powell a few years earlier.

Since 1910, more than 111 million young people have joined Scouting organizations. As of December 31, 2006, Boy Scout program membership included: 1,167,102 Boy Scouts, Varsity Scouts, and Venture Scouts (which includes both young men and young women); 1,701,861 Tiger Cubs, Cub Scouts, and Webelos Scouts; and almost 1.2 million adult volunteers, all organized as 121,530 Packs, Troops and Teams.

Kent Lambert was awarded the Eagle Scout Award in 1970 just after he joined the Air Force Academy. It was presented to him by the Academy Commandant of Cadets, Brig. Gen. Robin Olds. He later started an American Boy Scout troop at the American Embassy in Amman, Jordan, and served as Scoutmaster for about 20 boys.

< Back to Home